How long does an injured worker have to file a claim for injuries at work in Connecticut? Bills for medical care and lost wages can add up quickly if you can’t work due to an injury. Did you know that there is a statute of limitations for filing workers’ compensation claims? Learn more about the Connecticut workers’ comp statute of limitations and filing a claim for benefits.
Statutes of Limitations for Injuries at Work in Connecticut
A statute of limitations is the maximum time allowed for you to file a claim for an injury. The statute of limitations for filing an accidental injury claim is one year. However, you have three years to file a claim for an occupational illness, beginning from the onset of symptoms.
The sooner you file your claim for work-related illness or injury, the better your chances of getting your claim approved. The longer you wait, the more likely it is that the insurance company will deny your claim. You would then have to wait even longer to receive benefits while you go through the appeals process.
Steps for Workers Compensation Claims in Connecticut
If you suffered injuries at work that required medical care or time off from work, make sure you take the appropriate steps for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Connecticut. Steps you should take include:
- Notify your employer of the injury. Alert your employer to your injury so they can file a First Report of Injury with the Workers’ Compensation Commission and their workers’ compensation insurance provider.
- Get medical care. Visit an in-network workers’ compensation doctor or a hospital for a full examination. Make sure the doctor notes in your file that the injuries occurred at work.
- Submit Form 30C with the Workers’ Compensation Commission. As the injured worker, you must notify the WCC of your injuries promptly. Submit Form 30C by certified mail to the WCC.
- Contact a workers’ comp attorney. Workers’ comp insurance companies often deny claims. Having an attorney ready to appeal a denial or reduction of benefits for your claim can help you seek an approval and begin collecting benefits sooner.
As soon as you realize that you have a work-related injury, you should contact an attorney. You may face challenges against your claim from your employer, the WCC’s third-party claim administration service, or the workers’ compensation insurance provider. An experienced attorney can help you gather the evidence you need to support the validity of your claim.
Employers Responsibilities Responding to Workers’ Compensation Claims
When you file your workers’ compensation claim, your employer must also take appropriate steps to provide details about the incident to the WCC. They must also adhere to the Connecticut workers’ comp statute of limitations. Upon receiving the written notification of the claim, your employer must file a First Report of Injury.
If your employer or their insurer accepts your claim, they have 28 days to begin paying benefits from the day they received Form 30C. They have the same 28 days to send a written denial (Form 43).
The insurer and employer lose their right to dispute your claim if they do not respond within 28 days of receiving your Form 30C. However, the employer or insurer retains their right to dispute your claim for up to one year if they begin paying benefits within the 28-day response period.
Contact a Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Attorney for Injuries at Work
If you suffered an injury at work, make sure you file your claim within the Connecticut workers’ comp statute of limitations. For help filing a claim or appealing a denial, contact our workers’ compensation attorneys at the Law Offices of James A. Welcome. Call us today at 203-753-7300 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.