Being in a motorcycle accident can be incredibly frightening and leave you suffering from serious injuries. If you’re going to ride a motorcycle, it’s essential that you stay up to date on all of the rules and regulations in whichever state you’re currently riding. The last thing you need is to inadvertently break a driving law and be responsible for causing an accident. The following are some of the most important Connecticut motorcycle laws to keep in mind.
Make sure you have the correct license
In some states, you need an entirely separate motorcycle license in order to be able to legally operate a bike. However, in Connecticut, it’s a bit different. Instead, you must have a driver’s license with an additional motorcycle endorsement. While you don’t have to obtain a new, separate license, you must take several steps to ensure that you’re legally permitted to ride a motorcycle.
- Pay the required fee
- Successfully complete a knowledge and vision test
- Complete an approved motorcycle training course
You have the option of obtaining a motorcycle permit after you complete the knowledge and vision test in order to learn a bit more about riding a motorcycle. Once you’ve completed the training course, you will receive an “M” on your license. You can then legally ride a motorcycle. However, for riders over 18, you have to wait 90 days to have a passenger on the bike with you. For drivers under 18, the rules are a bit different, and you must wait 6 months to have a passenger ride with you.
Wear the proper gear
In Connecticut, you are required to wear some type of protection over your eyes while operating a motorcycle unless the bike you’re riding has a windscreen. This could be goggles or a closed-face helmet. Additionally, if you’re under the age of 18 or you’re operating your motorcycle with a permit, you must wear a helmet, and any passengers on your bike must also wear a helmet.
If you are under 18 and are stopped on your motorcycle without a helmet, you can be given a $90 fine. If you are stopped without a helmet while operating a motorcycle with a permit, you can be fined between $30 and $50 for a first offense. For any additional offenses, you can be fined up to $100 and spend 30 days in jail.
Once you have your permit or motorcycle endorsement and you make sure you’re wearing the proper gear, it’s a good idea to review some of the laws that you must follow while operating your motorcycle. Motorcycles are just like cars in terms of what rules they must follow. Any rules that you’d have to follow while driving a car, you must follow while operating a motorcycle.
Keep in mind that it is illegal to ride your motorcycle between two cars, as people often do to avoid traffic. Additionally, it’s illegal in Connecticut for more than two motorcyclists to occupy a single lane.
Motorcycles are dangerous, but if you follow the rules and take proper safety precautions, they can be a fun experience. If you need help with any type of motorcycle accident or you have any questions at all about riding in the state of CT, don’t hesitate to contact an experienced Waterbury motorcycle accident lawyer.