If you were injured on the job due to someone else’s negligence, you can file a workers’ compensation claim and potentially seek compensation from the third-party for your injuries in an injury suit. Learn more about your options for a third-party workplace accident.
When Should You File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Connecticut?
Whenever you suffer workplace injuries, you should file a workers’ compensation claim as soon as possible. The sooner you file your workers’ comp claim, the sooner you can begin receiving benefits.
To file a workers’ compensation claim in Connecticut, you must:
- Report your injury to your employer. Your employer will need to contact their workers’ comp insurance provider to file a First Report of Injury and contact the state workers’ compensation board to file a formal report.
- Request medical treatment for your injuries. You need a doctor’s assessment of your injuries for your case. Be sure to request copies of any diagnostics, tests, and doctor’s notes.
- File your workers’ compensation claim. You need to file a written notice of claim using Form 30-C to inform the Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC) of your intent to claim workers’ comp benefits.
You should also contact an experienced workers’ compensation attorney before filing your claim to review your documents and ensure that you’ve completed your forms appropriately.
Can You File a Lawsuit Against the Third-Party for Your Injuries?
Yes, you can file a lawsuit against a negligent party for a third-party workplace accident. Your employer and workers’ comp insurance carrier may also file claims against the negligent party in order to recuperate some amount of the costs they incurred for your injuries.
If you win your claim against the negligent party, the court will use up to two-thirds of your award to reimburse your employer for their expenses in paying your medical bills, lost wages, and other expenses.
For example, if you win $15,000 in your claim, and your employer has paid $8,000 in workers’ compensation benefits, your employer will receive $8,000. However, if your employer has paid $12,000 for your workers’ compensation benefits, they will receive $10,000 from your claim. You will keep the remaining $7,000 or $5,000, respectively.
What Parties Can You Hold Liable for Workplace Injuries in Connecticut?
When can you hold a third-party liable if you’re injured on the job? An injured worker can hold a third-party liable in any of several situations when the negligent party caused workplace injuries. Instances might include:
- A manufacturer defect causing a piece of equipment to malfunction
- A manufacturer using hazardous materials in products used at your workplace without your knowledge
- A cleaning company failing to post wet floor signs
- A maintenance vendor failing to service a piece of equipment properly
- A contractor or subcontractor disregarding safety codes
- A negligent driver who causing an accident while you are driving for work
Contact an Experienced Connecticut Workplace Injury Law Firm
You have options to pursue a legal claim for a third-party workplace accident in Connecticut. Call us at the Law Offices of James A. Welcome at 203-753-7300 to schedule a consultation at one of our four offices throughout Connecticut.